When we die… / Cuando morimos…

Sofi Minx

…we are “felled by a wintry gush of wind unto the bosom of our mother, the earth,” reads the last line in F. Gonzalez-Crussi’s The Day of the Dead and Other Mortal Reflections. I am deeply moved by the idea that every human who has ever existed has gone back into the earth. How noble our mother is to hold us all and breed us all and breathe us so.

This past Friday, exactly one month before Dia de los Muertos, I read from Dr.Gonzales-Crussi’s work as part of my guest appearance at Naked Ghouls Reading and was honored by counting him among the many friends and gracious listeners in the audience. More humbling was the e-mail I found the next morning that read: “Let me repeat, once more, my appreciation of the superb way in which you read the texts of my authorship. It was amazing to confirm how much a text may be enhanced when it is read with the clarity of enunciation, and the bright color, the right emphasis, and the warmth that you were able to communicate to those words.” I confess, I cried upon reading the reaction. Words—written or spoken—are often more alive, powerful, and longevous than the bodies that produce them.

In one of the passages I read, Dr.Gonzalez-Crussi asks, “When exactly do we begin dying?” I think of those I know who are dead long before they die, whose purpose and drive won’t return. I vow to live my days alive, for I cannot bring them back from their death, but I can dance to honor the lives they could have lived. To all those joining me on my journey and blowing my sails along, thank you and un millon de gracias.

***
Sofi Minx

…somos “derribados por una ráfaga sobre el pecho de nuestra madre, la tierra,” lee la última frase escrita por F. Gonzalez-Crussi en The Day of the Dead and Other Mortal Reflections (El Día de los Muertos y otras reflecciones mortales). Quedo asombrada al pensar que todos los humanos que jamás han existido han regresado a la tierra. ¡Qué noble nuestra madre que esperando– aspirando y espirando – nos contiene y nos engendra!

Este viernes pasado, exactamente un mes antes del Día de los Muertos, leí pasajes escritos por el Dr.Gonzales-Crussi como parte de mi presentación de invitada especial en Naked Ghouls Reading (Espíritus desnudos leyendo). Fue un honor contar con la presencia del autor entre las muchas amistades y atentos oyentes. Aun más conmovedor fue el correo electrónico que me recibió al día siguiente: “Permitame repetir nuevamente mi agradecimiento por la manera soberbia en que leyó los textos de mi paternidad literaria. Fue increíble confirmar lo mucho que un texto puede ser realzado cuando se lee con la claridad de articulación y el colorido resplandeciente, el énfasis correcto y la manera calurosa que pudo comuncar con esas palabras.” Confieso que lloré al leer su reacción. Las palabras – escritas o habladas – suelen ser más vivas, poderosas y longevas que los cuerpos que las producen.

En uno de los pasajes que leí, el Dr.Gonzalez-Crussi pregunta, “¿Exactamente cuándo es que comenzamos a morir?” Me pongo a pensar en aquellos conocidos que estan muertos mucho antes de morir, cuyo propósito e impulso no regresará. Yo me comprometo a vivir mis días viva Nada puedo hacer para revivirlos de su muerte sino bailar en homenaje de las vidas que pudieron haber vivido. A todos aquellos acompa~nandome en mi periplo y soplando mi velas, thank you y un millón de gracias.

~ by sofiminx on October 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
